Posted by: Serielley | August 4, 2009

New FFXIV Job/Race Information, Thank You Famitsu/BG!

UPDATE #3: More tasty goodness keeps coming, but at this time, the following info is UNCONFIRMED. I’m posting it just for the sake of completeness though. Credit goes to croythegreat @ ZAM who saw it on the Neogaf forums and comes from this post:

Hyuran: 2 clans – midlanders and highlanders
Elezen: the original race of Eorzea, oppose the Hyurans, enhanced hearing
Roegadyn: more human looking than Galkans, their base is in the north and there are a lot of fishermen
Lalafell: based in the south, agricultural, high intelligence, not many females
Miqo’te: 2 clans – the Sun Seekers who live regular daytime lives and the Moon Keepers who are nocturnal, not a lot of males, not clear if they will speak like cats
More races to come later


Desert City – Uldaha
Forest City – Gridania
Ocean City – Rimsa Rominsa
(the spelling could be way off, just going from the 2ch stuff Munba posted)

Armory System:
– you can change jobs and lifestyles freely
– by changing your weapon, you are essneitally changing jobs, and can do so anywhere
– so if you are invited to a PT and there are a lot of fighters, you can switch to a caster, then when your adventures are over, go fishing or synth some stuff
– weapons and def gear all have their own merit. if you want to hone a particular skill, you can coordinate your equipment in that direction
– rather than character levels and skills, the main thing is the skill of the item you are holding
– you can play on your own and switch between fighter and caster to heal yourself, so soloing is easy
– changing is as simple as changing your weapon, so there’s no stress
– typical jobs of the FF series, e.g. warrior and black mage, are being avoided
– you can basically enjoy this world in any way you want. (me: freedom seems to be the main point here)

Guild Leave:
– these are passes of trust you obtain from guilds
– a Leave is not a quest. it’s a card.
– you can mix your Leaves with other players’ Leaves
– at the Adventurers’ Guild, you can get Guild Leaves
– there are Leaves that you can’t get when your skill is low
– typically a Leave will take 30 mins to complete, there are some shorter too
– you can set the number of people needed to clear the Leave by yourself (seems to be like a difficulty level)
– if one person is carrying a Leave, other players may join whether they have the same Leave or not
– the contents of the Leave change after a week passes
– you can carry multiple Leaves (they are card form, like invitations)
– Guild Leaves are designed like Tarot cards and are really beautiful


Ethelite (sp?)
– installations that can warp you to your adventuring spot instantly

– in Eorzea, the cities are not all on one connecting landmass, like they were in FFXI
– the difference between races is not as big as FFXI
– but their is a difference between male and females, which they are keeping secret
– character creation: face, hair colour, eye colour, skin, etc. etc.
– battles are realtime, but not action based
– targeting an enemy and fighting (like FFXI) is not the main system, there will be a lot that you have to think about besides the target itself.
– because of the armory system, they are going to make it possible to carry lots of stuff
– there will also be stuff included that makes it easy to change gear
– they’re considering whether to let you master everything or not – there may be a see-saw like approach (like FFXI)
– the base of the character growth is the weapon. use a weapon and raise your skills.
– they are considering the option to let you arrange your windows how you want
– weapons will degrade with use
– Guild Leaves include monster hunting, expulsion, skilling up, etc etc
– when you go on a Leave run, you can use Ethelite to take you where you need to go instantly
– there are pirates in Rimsa
– Miqo’te are more catlike
– some trumpeting about how it’s going to be an awesome game
– right from the start, it’ll be exciting and you’ll be thinking “orly!?”
– weather changes, day/night too
– 1 game day = 1 earth hour
– people who can only play an hour a day will still be able to enjoy the game
– the monetary system is Gil
– the people living in the cities all have their own backstory
– you’ll start the game from your home city (I guess it’s based on race, but doesn’t say implicitly).

UPDATE #2: Taking a break from lunch, which is greatly appreciated m(_ _)m, Elmer the Pointy was able to translate most of the text on the images, and says that the full article will be available Friday when the magazine goes on sale. For now, here’s what we’ve got.

UPDATE:  the Miqo’te and the Elzan/Elzen (not 100% positive that is the correct name) races added to images, credit goes to Avvesione @ BG

Courtesy of BlueGartr forums, here is some preliminary race and job information from Famitsu:

We’re still waiting on translations at this point, and as soon as Elmer the Pointy, Corinth, or someone else is able to put them up, I’ll update this post with them, for now, though, here’s what little that people have been able to glean from the scans.

  • official names for Elvaan and Mithra have not been released yet, or were not part of the scans we’ve seen
  • character customization translation from takethistoyourgrave on BG forum: “When you make your character, aside from choosing the race, you will also be able to customize their appearance. Head, skin color, hair type etc, there will be multiple factors. Just how exact we will be able to customize their appearance is still unknown, but we mean it in a good way when we say that it seems like it will become a worry to many players.”
  • Job information: 4 base classes (Fighter, Sorcerer, Gatherer, Crafter) jobs will be based off of those 4 base classes and preliminary translations are showing a fighter/archer, curser/illusionist, gardener/fisherman, smith/cook
  • job/class changes will occur when you change weapons/tools

More to come as the translations come in, so keep checking back!



  1. I was thinking to not care about XIV at all but….those “tarus” are so adorable…might consider to actually take a look to the game <.<

    But dunno. Reading details reminds me TOO MUCH of Aion. (4 base classes that will develop into something more specific)

  2. I’ve been playing the Aion closed beta weekends for the last little while, and I feel pretty confident, even with such little information, that the two games will be vastly different.

    With Aion, you have multiple characters, one for each class/job that expands at level 10. The general idea I’m getting from FFXIV is that you can be any job/class, at any time, on one character, and you can switch them on the fly for whatever is needed. I think mog house job changing will be a thing of the past.

    I love the Lalafells (Falafels, lol) as well, and can’t wait to recreate Seri in Eorzea. KAWAII!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: